It’s all Political.

Let’s kick it into high gear with web media. I have been putting it on the back burner and I shouldn’t have. I’m sorry Web, it’s nothing personal. You’re probably the most important and more difficult of all my projects I’m working on right now. I don’t know why I’ve been ignoring it. Intimidation. Yes. But it’s time to get past that. It’s time to be fully focused. So let’s focus on whitespace and layout dealing with political websites.

Having negative space in any output is essentially important. Whether it be printed matter or websites, whitespace can either balance or disrupt the flow of the work. The next few images are from a few examples I found on the web dealing with politics. I’m not saying they are bad depending on who the candidate is or isn’t. Just stating facts that I see through the website itself.

To me these are two of the websites I found to be somewhat pleasing, although they each have their own faults. Jan Eian’s website layout was pleasing to the eye. It doesn’t have too many tabs on the side for you to scan through and their seems to be a good balance between text and negative space. One thing I have a problem with is the body copy on the front of the website. This part keeps going. I spared you the rest because it was so long. And the lines in the background make me feel like the words should be lined up with it. But they aren’t.

Obama’s site is very organized. There are certain sections concentrated for weekly addresses, the blog, events, donations, tour events, ect. Although there are several different links on the homepage of the website. It is very neatly organized and easy to find. The whitespace balances quite well with the text, too.

These two I had a little bit more trouble finding my way around. They were very cluttered and not well organized. The multiple tabs and links threw me for a loop as did the layout. The whole time I was on these sites I felt lost and didn’t know where to go.

This website, however, was one of my favorites I came across. The use of color and balance between type and negative space was the first thing that caught my eye. They are both visually appealing. Even though its not a true political website, I thought I would use it as an example. Not only is the navigation bar easily located, they are also connected to the modern world of social networking which reaches out to a variety of different users. There isn’t too much use of text which satisfies the eye by not making it stress out with too much body copy. Overall, really enjoyed this site. You should check out some on your own time!

Let’s move onto the next Chapter…. Chapter 15, Links! =)

Leave a Reply

